Live Blog of 2018 Midterm Elections

Voting Logo

<<Our Live Coverage of the 2018 Midterm Elections has concluded for the night. Previous coverage below:>>


Major Washington Race Notes: Sen. Maria Cantwell wins re-election for U.S. Senate
Major National Election Notes: GOP Retains Control of Senate | Democrats Gain Control of House -- ABC News Projects


10:03 p.m.: ABC News projects that the Democrats will pick up between 32 and 36 seats in the House.

9:19 p.m.: Election will break record for number of women in US House; biggest gains are among Democrats. - Associated Press

9:10 p.m.: Supporters of I-1634 (food tax) concede defeat in a press release.

9:07 p.m.: More AP Race Calls: U.S. House of Representatives Winners:

Suzan DelBene (D), U.S. House District 1 (WA)
Rick Larsen (D), U.S. House District 2 (WA)
Dan Newhouse (R), U.S. House District 4 (WA)
Cathy McMorris-Rodgers (R), U.S. District 5 (WA)
Derek Kilmer (D), U.S. House District 6 (WA)
Primila Jayapal (D), U.S. House District 7 (WA)
Adam Smith (D), U.S. House District 9 (WA)
Denny Heck (D), U.S. House District 10 (WA)

8:39 p.m.: Sen. Maria Cantwell re-elected as U.S. Senator for Washington. - AP Race Call

8:36 p.m.

8:22 p.m.: "Tremendous success tonight. Thank you to all!" President Trump tweets on Election Night - ABC News

8:00 p.m.: Polls have closed in Washington. LIVE ELECTION RESULTS HERE>>

7:55 p.m.: Democrats will obtain control of the U.S. House of Representatives per ABC News.

7:26 p.m.: Republican Rep. Kevin Cramer will defeat Democratic Sen. Heidi Heitkamp in North Dakota, CNN Projects. A pickup for Republicans in the Senate. - CNN

7:23 p.m.: Democrat Sharice Davids is on track to win Kansas’ 2nd Congressional District, ABC News projects, based on exit polls. The political newcomer will be the first Native American lesbian woman elected to Congress. She’s also the second openly lesbian woman in Congress. - ABC News

7:19 p.m.: Republicans will retain control of the Senate, ABC News projects.

7:16 p.m. Democratic challenger Kim Schrier in Washington's 8th Congressional District says she's optimistic about her chances but thinks the race will be too close to call Tuesday night:

7:12 p.m: Republican incumbent Ted Cruz will win Texas' U.S. Senate race, defeating Democratic Rep. Beto O'Rourke, ABC projects based on vote analysis - ABC News

7:09 p.m.: Democrat Laura Kelly will defeat Republican Kris Kobach in Kansas governor's race, CNN projects - CNN News

7:07 p.m.: STATE OF PLAY: Democrats are projected to have gained 10 seats in the House of Representatives so far, per ABC - ABC News

7:04 p.m.:
Former Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney will win Utah's U.S. Senate race, @ABC projects based on exit polls - ABC News

6:58 p.m.: Michigan Democrat Rashida Tlaib and Minnesota Democrat Ilhan Omar will become the first Muslim women elected to Congress, CNN projects -CNN

6:52 p.m.: "HISTORIC FIRST: New York Democrat Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez becomes the youngest woman elected to Congress, CNN projects" - CNN

6:50 p.m.: Democrat Ilhan Omar is projected to win election in Minnesota's 5th Congressional District, making her the first Muslim woman elected to Congress in U.S. history - NPR

6:47 p.m.: Florida voters approve Amendment 4, which says that most felons will automatically have their voting rights restored when they complete their sentences or go on probation. - AP

6:43 p.m. Democrats will pick up two more House seats with Pennsylvania's 5th and 17th districts, CNN projects.

6:36 p.m.: Democrat Jared Polis will win Colorado's gubernatorial race, ABC News projects based on vote analysis, making history as the first openly gay governor.

6:23 p.m.: Early results show GOP holding on to some House seats Democrats had hoped to flip; key Senate races still competitive. - AP

6:20 p.m.: Long line of voters outside the King County Elections Headquarters. Workers about to help voters move through the line faster - KOMO News

6:14 p.m.: Sen. Joe Manchin wins re-election in West Virginia, a key hold for Democrats, CNN projects.

6:08 p.m.: GOP Gov. Greg Abbott of Texas, Democratic Gov. Andrew Cuomo of New York win; Wyoming seat goes to Republican Mark Gordon. Republican John Barrasso of Wyoming and Democrat Kirsten Gillibrand of New York re-elected to the Senate. - AP

5:58 p.m. Republican businessman Bill Lee has won Tennessee's gubernatorial election over his Democratic challenger, former Nashville Mayor Karl Dean. Lee will succeed Republican Gov. Bill Haslam, who was barred by term limits from seeking re-election. - AP

5:49 p.m.
Republican Mike Braun will win the U.S. Senate race in Indiana, ABC projects based on vote analysis.

5:27 p.m.
Democratic Sen. Sherrod Brown has been elected to a third term. Brown handily defeated fourth-term Rep. Jim Renacci, who dropped a governor's bid to run for Senate at Trump's urging. Brown is in his fifth decade of Ohio politics. He won his first election to the state's House in 1974 and unseated Republican Sen. Mike DeWine in 2006. With a history of blue-collar appeal and union support, Brown has backed Trump moves on steel tariffs and renegotiating trade agreements. Renacci is a businessman who called Brown a liberal out of touch with Ohio values. -Associated Press

5:25 p.m.
Sen. Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts, a potential 2020 White House contender, is among a group of five Democratic lawmakers who have easily won re-election to the Senate. Sens. Chris Murphy of Connecticut, Ben Cardin of Maryland, Tom Carper of Delaware and Sheldon Whitehouse of Rhode Island also won. They were heavy favorites in their races. Warren has generated considerable speculation about a possible run for the White House in 2020, recently saying she'd take a "hard look" at a presidential bid after the Senate race was over. Murphy won a second term after amassing a fundraising war chest that was 100 times larger than his opponent's. Meanwhile, Carper won his fourth term. He has never lost an election during four decades in politics. Cardin and Whitehouse both won third terms. - Associated Press

5:07 p.m.:
Voting hours have been extended in some precincts in at least five states: Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, North Carolina and Texas. High-profile figures and candidates continue to tweet, asking voters to stay in line. - Per ABC News

5:02 p.m.:
Democrats will keep Senate seats in Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, Ohio and Rhode Island, CNN projects. Chris Murphy, Tom Carper, Ben Cardin, Elizabeth Warren, Sherrod Brown, and Sheldon Whitehouse

4:57 p.m.:
Democrat Tim Kaine of Virginia has been re-elected to the Senate, defeating Republican Corey Stewart. - Associated Press

4:52 p.m.:
CNN reports Democrats will take their first House seat from Republicans, as Jennifer Wexton will defeat Barbara Comstock in Virginia.

4:14 p.m.:
Vermont's Bernie Sanders has cruised to re-election for his third term in the Senate, easily outpacing eight candidates. - Associated Press

4:13 p.m.:
Georgia Republican gubernatorial candidate Brian Kemp -- who is also in charge of the state's election -- had problems voting. The Georgia governor's race is one of the most closely-watched in the country, due in part to an ongoing dispute over Kemp's management of the election system. Kemp had an issue with his voter card when he went to cast his ballot, but it was fixed quickly. He walked by reporters and said: "Take Two." - Associated Press

4:12 p.m:

4:03 p.m.:

ABC News has released several details of what voters are feeling through their extensive preliminary exit polling. Get the results here.

4:00 p.m:

As polls close across the country, get the latest nationwide results here:

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off